Who We Are
Share |

 

 

Our Mission: To work in partnership with others to provide safe, durable, affordable housing for Minnesota's homeless, veteran's and others in need.

Our Goal: To create or improve housing for those in need.  We accomplish this by providing our BATC-Housing First Minnesota members the opportunity to give back to their communities by participating in building projects that provide assistance to families, veterans and organizations in need of building or remodeling improvements.  Because of the generosity of BATC-Housing First Minnesota members, we are able to keep costs down, effectively addressing affordability issues for families and social service agencies.

We are Building Heart in Housing.

 


 

Who We Are

BATC-Housing First Minnesota has had a charitable program since its inception. Originally overseen by a BATC-Housing First Minnesota committee, the Builders Outreach Foundation was incorporated as a separate, 501c3 charitable non-profit in 1995.  In 2013, the name was changed to the BATC-Housing First Minnesota Foundation to more closely tie the organization to its parent company.  Celebrating our 20th Anniversary in 2015, the BATC-Housing First Minnesota Foundation is the charitable arm of the Builder's Association of the Twin Cities (BATC)-Housing First Minnesota.

In the early 90's, the committee built two homes-one for Cornerstone Battered Women Shelters, and one for Interfaith Outreach & Community Partners. In October 1994, the Foundation took on their first project in the Frogtown area of St. Paul.  This led to a ten-year partnership with the city of St. Paul and the Greater Frogtown Community Development Corporation. During the ensuing decade, the Foundation constructed homes for 19 families in Frogtown within several blocks, bringing a needed stability and a reliable place for families to the area. Throughout the 1990s and the early 2000s, the Foundation grew under its new focus, and with each increasing partnership. We aim, and dream, to create safe and affordable housing in the Twin Cities community.



We are a nonprofit organization composed of BATC-Housing First Minnesota members and supporters. The BATC-Housing First Minnesota Foundation taps the talents and resources of the Association’s member builders, remodelers, suppliers and volunteers to support our communities and to help Twin Cities residents and families in need. We build homes, provide remodeling and repair, as well as offer scholarships for young people entering the construction industry. Stable and quality housing not only helps our families, but provides a much needed base for further economic growth within the Twin Cities area. Our competitive scholarships provide relief in a world where students and young professionals are overburdened by debt.

 Through all of the aforementioned support, we are able to keep costs low-thus effectively addressing affordability and safety in housing for Twin Cities residents most in need. We often partner with other Twin Cities organizations such in order to expand our advocacy outreach and address many sides of housing issues; whether it is an accessible house for the victim of a hit-and-run, a special space for a Leukemia patient, or repairs and remodels for Twin Cities families overburdened by unexpected costs.


 

HomeAid nationwide chapters build or renovate housing for the temporarily homeless. They also serve as a liaison between local homeless service organizations and residential builders. Approximately 3.5 million people experience homelessness each year.

To stay updated with our current projects and connect with us on Facebook and Twitter (@BATCFoundation). Interested in being involved? Submit a project, donate or volunteer here or contact David Siegel.

 


 

 2018 Board of Directors

    

 

PRESIDENT

Stephen Roche**

Showcase Renovations, Inc.

sroche@showcaserenovation.com

 

MEMBER AT LARGE

Kathy Greiner

Rebuilding Together Twin Cities

k.greiner@rebuildingtogether-twincities.org

 

VICE PRESIDENT

Dennis Medo**

Project Build Minnesota

dennis@projectbuildmn.org
   

MEMBER AT LARGE

Melissa Engler

US Bank

melissa.engler@usbank.com

 

 

SECRETARY

Paul Roecker**

Lyman Roofing & Siding

paul_roecker@lymanrs.com

   

MEMBER AT LARGE

Jim Fuschetto

Lyman Lumber Company

jim_fuschetto@lymanlumber.com

 

TREASURER

Jody Kern**

Wells Fargo Home Mortgage

jody.kern@wellsfargo.com

  MEMBER AT LARGE

Kate Hamilton

Cambria

kate.hamilton@cambriausa.com

 

 

PAST PRESIDENT

Trace Mills**

One Ten Ten Homes, LLC

trace.mills@mattamycorp.com

 


MEMBER AT LARGE

Jodie Jenewein

Coldwell Banker Burnet

jodie.jenewein@cbburnet.com

 

   

EXEC COMM. MEMBER AT LARGE

Richard Berg**

Contract Interiors, Inc.

richard@ciiflooring.com



MEMBER AT LARGE

Bob Michels

Michels Homes

bob@bmichels-const.com

 

EXEC COMM. MEMBER AT LARGE

Jim Kuiken**

Accent Homes 

jimkuiken@msn.com

MEMBER AT LARGE

Meg Jaeger

Mega Homes/New Spaces

megjaeger@mega-homes.com

 



MEMBER AT LARGE

Kristin Reinitz

Minnesota Rusco

kristin@minnesotarusco.com


MEMBER AT LARGE

Lynne Jensen-Nelson

Coversion-omics

lynne@conversion-omics.com




 

  **Serves on the Executive Committee 


 

 

BATC-HOUSING FIRST MINNESOTA FOUNDATION STAFF

Donnie Brown

Foundation Manager

651-697-7565 | donnie@batc.org

 

Shelly Barrett

Foundation Coordinator 

651-697-7563shelly@batc.org

BATC-Housing First Minnesota

2960 Centre Pointe Drive
Roseville, MN 55113

651-697-1954
Reception@BATC.org

Staff List
Board of Directors

Our Mission

As the leading voice for builders and remodelers, we help our members build their businesses through marketing, advocacy and industry connections.

Our Vision

To be as vital in government and politics and we are to Minnesota’s economy.